Sign In




​​The Act to Prevent the Careless Use of Fire 1865 was introduced as the first legislation for rural fire management practices in Queensland. This prompted the beginning of a number of rural landowners banding together to protect their properties and communities. But, it wasn't until after the introduction of the Rural Fires Act 1927 that the first Rural Fire Board was formed. Unfortunately the board was suspended during the Great Depression in 1931.

After World War II, rural communities across Queensland again started organising their own local volunteer firefighting services – the Bush Fire Brigades. This led to the reformation of the Rural Fires Board in 1948, seeing a period of exponential growth for rural brigades across the state, growing from approximately 350 brigades in the 1950s to around 1,400 brigades in the early 1980s.

In 1990, the Rural Fires Board was reconstructed into the Rural Fires Council, becoming part of the Queensland Government Department of Emergency Services, combining Urban Fire Services, Rural Fire Services, Ambulance and State Emergency Services. This amalgamation saw the provision of better equipment, funding, training and communication to our brigades.

Today, we are the Rural Fire Service, part of Queensland Fire and Emergency Services (QFES). With approximately 33,000 unpaid volunteers serving in approximately 1,500 brigades across the state. These men and women provide dedicated fire services to 93% of Queensland. ​

​​The Logo

​The Rural Fire Service (RFS)​ Logo has evolved over the years of the service. 


In April 1979, the centre of our logo was approved by the then Minister for Mines, Energy and Police after consultation with a number of design companies and multiple submissions. The successful company explains the logo.

"The upper band of the logo designates the foliage that is the base of any bushfire. The triangle designates fire that threatens the landscape. The universal symbol for fire is a triangle depicting fuel, oxygen and ignition."

The new logo, which was approved by the Department of Premier and Cabinet in 2016, pays tribute to the history of the RFS by retaining the original logo in the centre of the image. The logo however now incorporates a wreath, symbolic of our inclusion into the larger Queensland Fire and Emergency Services and depicts the Cooktown Orchid – the floral emblem of Queensland.

The Volunteer Charter

The RFS Volunteer Charter is an agreement between the State of Queensland, QFES and the Rural Fire Brigades Association Queensland to ensure the State of Queensland and QFES will commit to consulation with volunteers regarding matters which might reasonably be expected to effect volunteers.

See the charter here.

​​The first one hundred brigades

This list has been reproduced from the 1960/61 Annual Report of the Rural Fires Board, at which time 358 brigades were registered. Many of these brigades are still in existence today, while some have been merged with other brigades due to the spread of the urban development​​.

  1. Glasshouse Mountains
  2. Lagoon Pocket
  3. Dagun
  4. Byfields
  5. Kandanga
  6. Amamoor
  7. Caboolture
  8. Thangool
  9. Langshaw
  10. Gordonbrook
  11. Dangore
  12. Wooroolin
  13. Wamuran Basin
  14. Nidi Gully
  15. Greymare
  16. Wamuran
  17. Evelyn
  18. Wellshot-Portland
  19. West Burleigh
  20. Morgen North
  21. Malboona
  22. Wyandra
  23. Wyangarie No. 1
  24. McKinlay Shire
  25. Pie Creek
  26. Granada
  27. Bimerah
  28. Cunnamulla
  29. Valetta
  30. Nelia North
  31. Wakefiled
  32. Ernestina
  33. Ducklo
  34. Mungallala
  35. Langlo Crossing
  36. Cooladdi
  37. Strathlea
  38. Eudlo
  39. Balkan States
  40. North Ilfracombe
  41. East Darr
  42. Aspley
  43. Warrnambool
  44. Leeson
  45. Middle Creek
  46. Ironpot
  47. Gallipoli
  48. Luckham
  49. Toogoolawah
  50. Sandy Ridges
  1. Bollon
  2. Adavale
  3. Summit​​
  4. Cedar Vale
  5. Barabon
  6. Gin Gin
  7. Coominglah
  8. Acheron Creek
  9. Marmor
  10. Alton Downs
  11. Bracewell
  12. Calliope
  13. Butlerville
  14. Machine Creek
  15. Ambrose
  16. East End
  17. Ridgelands
  18. Veteran
  19. Banana
  20. Raglan
  21. Baralaba
  22. Tartulla
  23. Jambin
  24. Willawa
  25. Moura
  26. Valentine Plains
  27. Olio
  28. Wardsdale
  29. Kunioon & Hodgleigh
  30. Beechal Creek
  31. Nebine
  32. Mount Murchison
  33. Brooloo
  34. Dalma
  35. Dixalea
  36. Wattlebank
  37. Jardine
  38. Morella
  39. Bouldercombe
  40. Werna-Wokingham
  41. Bukali
  42. Rossmoya
  43. Dululu
  44. East Springsure
  45. Mothar Mountain
  46. Catsworth
  47. Orange Creek
  48. Kybong​